ABUJA LODGE - No. 9866 (2011)

On Saturday, the 19th of November, 2011, history was recorded in the Masonic circles of Abuja, Nigeria, and indeed, West Africa. Abuja Lodge No 9866 was consecrated. The consecrating officer was no less a Masonic dignitary than the District Grand Master of Ghana, Rt. W. Bro Kow Abaka Quansah, who led a strong delegation that comprised his Deputy District Grand Master, V. W. Bro Miguel Augustus Fransisco Ribeiro, and other distinguished brethren. The District Grand Master of Nigeria, R. W. Bro. Olorogun Moses Taiga, was the consecrating Senior Warden, while W. Bro. Gabi Osakwe, PAGDC, ADGM, was the consecrating Junior Warden.

A total of 59 Masons were in attendance at the ceremony, many of whom came from different parts of Nigeria. The auspicious occasion was also graced by His Royal Majesty, Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe, the Obi of Onitsha, CFR, PSGD, now the Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Nigeria. After the consecration, the following principal officers were installed for the year 2011/2012: founding Worshipful Master, W. Bro. Ghassan Cheaib, DGSwdB; Senior Warden, W. Bro. Ifeanyi Ezeukwu, PDGReg, DGMentor; Junior Warden, W. Bro. Peter Igbinedion, PDGOrg.

There seemed to have been an unexpressed yearning for a Lodge of the caliber conceived by the founders of Abuja Lodge. There were already two Masonic Lodges in Abuja, one of the English constitution, and the other of the Scottish constitution. Abuja, being the Federal Capital of Nigeria, needed to have Lodges that satisfied a wide variety of Masonic interests, according to members’ motivations and aspirations in Masonry. The District Grand Master, recognizing this fact, had encouraged the founding of Lodges of varying interests like, professional Lodges.

Sponsored by St. Georges and Plateau Lodges, Abuja Lodge was founded by the following twelve members: HRM Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe, the Most Worshipful Grandmaster of the Grand Lodge of Nigeria; V. W. Bro Chief Williams Adjekughele, DDGM; W. Bro. Ghassan Cheaib, PDGSwdB; W. Bro.Ifeanyi Ezeukwu PDGReg, DGMentor; W. Bro. Rabie Jarmakani, PDGSW; W. Bro.Peter Igbinedion, PDGOrg; W. Bro.Adedayo Pearse, PDGDDC; W. Bro. O. Ima Kagho, PDGSupWks; W. Bro. James Boer; W. Bro. William Saad; W. Bro. Chiedu Ndubisi; and Bro. Patrick Obahiagbon. Other members of the Lodge are Bros. Joseph Lartey, Emenike Mbagbena, Silas Zwingina, and Hassan Mohammed Hassan.

The Honorary members of the Lodge are: HRM Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe, the Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Nigeria; R. W. Bro. Kow Abaka QUANSAH, DGM (Ghana); R. W. Bro. Olorogun Moses TAIGA, DGM (Nigeria); V. W. Bro. Miguel Augusto RIBEIRO, PGSwdB, DDGM (Ghana); V. W. Bro. Williams O. Adjekughele, DDGM (Nigeria); W. Bro. Gabi N. OSAKWE, PAGDC, ADGM(Nigeria); W. Bro. Dr. G. S. C. Okoye, ADGM(Nigeria); W. Bro. Peter Crabb, DGSec.; W. Bro. Sam Uzoukwu, ADGM (Nigeria); W. Bro. Isaac Hood, ADGM(Ghana); W. Bro. Gbenga Kayode Smith; and W. Bro. Patrick Nwankwo, DSGW.

Lodge Venue and Meeting Days

Meeting Days:

Second Friday in February, April, June, August and Installation in November.

Time: 7pm.


Meets at 19 Nun Street, off IBB Way, Maitama, Abuja.


Mail: 19B Nun Street, off IBB Way, Maitama, Abuja.

Email: abuja.lodge9866@dglnec.org